From the October Archives: Photos and Poetry

100_1477

*

I began this site, Short Holiday Poems, in October 2012.  It grew from my primary blog, Poems From Oostburg, Wisconsin.

Today I am sharing from the October Archives on this holiday site, in one new post.

*

NorfolkPine 001

*

imple and
legant – this
emembrance of
nola
ow and in
ternity

An acrostic with my mother’s name, Enola

*

ay
veryone who can
emember and
onsider
our children in need

*

leaves and rain
fall together
renew the earth
after harvest
Thanksgiving

*

cold country night
two deer in the front yard
graze in starlight

*

Food Pantry donations
warm greetings
and help with groceries
old-fashioned kindness
warms our hearts

*

PUDDLES IN FIELDS

grey skies
and calm colors

puddles in fields
of harvested corn
remind us
to keep Spring
in our hearts

soon there will be
holiday lights
on homes
trees
fences

small town streets
with wreaths
on lamp posts

to help us find
our way home
with the moon
and stars

in the beauty of night
on country roads

*

in the coffee mug
with my name
Mom bought for me
a rainbow of colored pens
to write my blessings

*

100_1477

Photos by Karl

Poems by Ellen Grace Olinger